American Intervention / International Faux Pas

While I was home I was contacted by a close friend's mother that she was worried
her thirty-three year old child was drinking too much and would I help with an
intervention. Okay, so to be clear I have been living in Ireland for 15 years
I have never been part of an intervention and don't know much about them. I said
yeah, I guess I will. So, my close friend and I were at the bar and I said 
you know your mother is very worried about your drinking and is planning an 
intervention.

Okay, if you are in this little tale now - you probably know what I did not know
you are not supposed to tell the interventionee that an intervention is being
planned. I guess you are also not supposed to go drinking with the interventionee
and tell them about the intervention at the bar. So, let us just say that when
I made such a heinous faux pas shit got real. 

The intervention facilitator called me and asked me if I had not seen the 
intervention television show. Oh my goodness, of course I have not seen the
intervention television show, I didn't even know there was one and if I did know
why on earth would I want to watch something highlighting people's misfortune?
The intervention facilitator said that I am co-dependent. The close friend's
mother said I ruined the intervention because said close friend then would not
go to the intervention.

I think there are two morals of this story:

1. If you are planning an intervention I am not a person to invite to it.
2. Do not tell an interventionee that an intervention is being planned.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

