The Soul

My culture had taught me all the wrong things well. So I lay completely still,
and gave no reaction at all. But the soul has no culture. The soul has no 
nations. The soul has no colour or accent or way of life. The soul is forever.
The soul is one. And when the heart has its moments of truth and sorrow, the soul 
can't be stilled.

I clenched my teeth against the stars. I closed my eyes. I surrendered to sleep.
One of the reasons we crave love, and seek it so desperately, is that love is the
only cure for loneliness, and shame, and sorrow. But some feelings so deep into
the heart that only loneliness can help you find them again. Some truths about
yourself are so painful that only shame can help you live with them. And some
things are just so sad that only your soul can do the crying for you.

-Gregory David Roberts
excerpt from 'Shantaram'
Leave a Reply

